Welcome!

1st Grade_archive, 2nd Grade_archive, 3rd Grade_archive, 4th Grade_archive, 5th Grade_archive, Kindergarten_archive, Pre-kindergarten_archive

IMG_7756

After earning my Bachelor of Art Education degree from the University of Kansas in 2010, I moved to Washington D.C. to attend graduate school at the Corcoran College of Art and Design.  I completed my Master of Arts in Art Education in May of 2012, and spent the following three years teaching elementary art at Holy Trinity School.  I moved to Austin in June, and am excited to be spending the 2015-2016 school year here at Hyde Park.

I was fortunate to have many influential art teachers in my life and hope to make a difference in the lives of my students as well. I believe that art has the potential to provide students with intriguing new perspectives that cannot be mirrored by any other subject. It can enhance ingenuity by developing imagination and creative thinking, and enable students to envision alternative solutions to a problem when they might otherwise believe they have hit a dead end.

My goal as a teacher is to pass along my passion for a subject that offers so much more than meets the eye. I want to bring excitement and magic into my classroom and inspire my students to take the plunge into the world of art that can lead to so many wonderful places. Regardless of the students’ backgrounds or past achievements in art, I want them to feel confident in their work and eager to come to class everyday.

This year, each class will learn about elements and principles of art. The elements include: line, shape, color, value, texture, and space. The principles include: pattern, rhythm, proportion, balance, unity, and emphasis. Each grade will complete projects that teach one or more of these concepts while incorporating various materials and techniques. My expectations are that each student will come to class ready to learn and participate in each project to the best of his or her abilities.

If you ever have any questions, comments, or concerns, the best way to contact me is by email at Klivingston@hp-schools.org. I check it frequently and will always do my best to respond as quickly as possible.

Here’s to the start of a wonderful school year.

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

